9 Undefeated Teams Remain

Nine teams remain undefeated in major college football, 7 from the power conference and 2 from the Group of 5 conference. Alabama, Michigan, Clemson, and Washington clearly control their own destiny, meaning if they win out they’ll be the 4 teams in the College Football Playoff. I believe Nebraska also controls it’s own destiny because they would need to defeat Ohio State in the regular season, then win the Big 10 Championship game, likely against Michigan or Ohio State, which I believe would put them in the top 4. Although there’s no real reason to believe any of first 4 teams will lose a game prior to the playoff, history says a couple will.

Among the contending 1 loss teams are Louisville, Ohio State, and Texas A&M. Louisville and Texas A&M only have losses to undefeated teams. Ohio State lost to an unranked team, but still has games remaining against 2 undefeateds, giving them a chance to make up for it. My guess is Ohio State is actually the 1 loss team with the most control of their destiny because they still control if they win their conference or not.

Here are the undefeateds, by conference:

  • SEC – Alabama
  • Big 10 – Michigan and Nebraska
  • ACC – Clemson
  • Pac 12 – Washington
  • Big 12 – Baylor and West Virginia
  • MWC – Boise State
  • MAC – Western Michigan